PB & Jade

Vegan Mofo #4: Seitanic Thai Coconut Curry

Posted on: October 6, 2008

I’m Asian. This means I am often accompanying my mother on some random errand to the “Asian” store. On one such occasion, after I had told my mother of my conversion to non-animal-product-eater, I stumbled upon a row of interesting cans. They were labeled, “Vegetarian Mock Duck.” When I read the ingredients, one of the listed ingredients was Wheat Gluten. I knew I had to have it. I would now finally experience SEITAN.

Enter a couple of weeks later. I had no idea what to do with these things. Every seitan recipe I had found on the internet involved actually making your own seitan. I was very confused. Luckily, I was cruising Vegan Cooking on LJ and I noticed someone had asked a similar question. What DO I do with this can of mock duck?

Apparently the correct answer is Thai Coconut Curry. Don’t you dare say anything otherwise.

Behold.

HINT: I used that canned Mock Duck and not Tofu. But it’s an excellent recipe as-is, too!

1 Response to "Vegan Mofo #4: Seitanic Thai Coconut Curry"

I try out canned stuff once in a while. I’m talking scary canned things. soemtimes they are good. take for instance, Chai Pow Yu. had 5 spice powder in it, but not too much. very tasty. http://stores.wholesome-essential.com/Detail.bok?no=300

I have also tried vegan haggis. it was a really greasy curry.

Leave a Reply

